Dear George,

18 Dec

Before I ever stepped foot in Shakespeare and Co., I was familiar with your story. Growing up in the small town of Kitchener, and being a novice writer, I could only dream of taking refuge in the upstairs lodgings at your bookstore. I greatly admired your passion for literature, travel, and your aptitude for new languages (the latter to which I am deeply envious of). On my first visit to Paris, visiting S&Co was on the top of my list. The welcoming and musty atmosphere of that little bookshop has stayed with me, and I know that I will always take pleasure from a never changing S&Co in years to come.

You will continue to be an inspiration to me, and to so many others within the literary community.

Merci pour tout,

Drea

One Response to “Dear George,”

  1. coreymp January 30, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    I love your post. I am still kicking myself for not having visited Shakespeare and Company when I went to Paris years ago. My obsession with it, along with my obsession with “The Lost Generation” came after that trip.

    To be a “Tumbleweed” and be surrounded with books that have been read and touched by so many would be a dream come true. This obsession inspired me to write my second book, which I’m currently editing.

    Thank you for a wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

