London Calling.

26 Mar

The city of London is calling. And yet, this time around it’s strictly for business purposes. I am heading overseas for the London Book fair. For anyone who is not familiar with the purpose of the fair, it is a terrific means of connecting with editors and other agents, and is an avenue to promote books within the industry. I have spent the last few weeks preparing the material I will need to present during those three days. Yes, the fair is actually only three days, but three very long days, consisting of editor/agent meetings and forging new business connections. I am overcome with anticipation, as I am thrilled to get out there and promote my clients work. I am going in with a very strong list, and can only hope that my time spent at the fair will be lucrative, and will result in many new and wonderful business partnerships. Another reason why I am keen to attend, is because it’s hard to get a sense of how the international market is faring from over here in Toronto, and I hope to come out of the book fair having a clearer idea of the big picture.

Although the fair itself is a mere three days, my travels are taking me to the UK for three weeks. Outside of the book fair dates, the rest of my time will be spent meeting with more editors, authors, and publishers. Like I mentioned previously, the loveliest part of my job is having that personal contact with my authors. My UK/European client list is expanding, and so it will be nice to touch base with some new and potential clients. I will be spending a few days in Edinburgh, as I have a client there that I wish to visit. I am also very much looking forward to meeting with an editor from Canongate, as it has always been a dream of mine to work with that publishing house. Building and maintaining these relationships plays such a pivotal role in what I do. It’s through these well crafted connections that other connections are born.

I will be MIA for a bit, but my next post(s) will cover my experiences at the fair, and I will do my very best to keep on top of my April book review. Knowing my schedule in advance, I am only packing two books with me for this trip. One for the airplane journey, and the other for the train/tube rides.

 

 

7 Responses to “London Calling.”

  1. michael wuitchik March 27, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    Great post Drea, your clients are so lucky to have you! Looking forward to reading, ‘my three weeks in G.B.’

  2. literaryagent007 March 28, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

    Thanks Michael! I am sure I will have some interesting stories to share about the LBF 🙂

  3. James Reiss April 2, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    Bon voyage yet again, Drea. You’re a world traveler on literary and spiritual odysseys galore. As Michael W. said, those of us who are your clients are lucky dogs, i.e., dogs lucky enough to speak of you! Enjoy auld Albion!

    • literaryagent007 April 5, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      Hello Jim,

      Ha, yes. Thank you! I hope all is well in your neck of the woods.

      Best,
      Drea

  4. Joy April 17, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    Excited to read about the book fair! I’ve heard it’s a really neat experience.

  5. literaryagent007 April 17, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    Hi Joy,

    Yes, it certainly is quite the experience. I have just wrapped up day two of the fair, and am preparing for the last day of meetings. I will be posting about my experiences at the LBF in the near future.

    Best,
    Drea

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunblind, Newsladen « Schietree - March 27, 2012

    […] as much as I’d like to – but to share some news. My agent, the lovely Drea Cohane is jetting off shortly for London for the Book Fair and from there to Edinburgh, where I’ll get to meet her for a second time. […]

Leave a Reply

