All’s well that ends well?

3 Dec

As the year draws to an end, a sigh of relief escapes me. This past year took on a life of its own. Due to a series of unexpected life altering events, it left me very little time to reflect or make note of what was steering the literary reins, so to speak.

The entire year was a whirlwind affair, replete with: international travel, book fairs, author meetings, book events etc. I experienced my first Frankfurt book fair, and was terribly impressed with how efficiently it was run. Not to mention the fact that they offered a free metro pass to people in the industry for the duration of the fair. I wish the London book fair and BEA would do the same. Suffice to say, it was the most enjoyable fair to date, simply due to the ease in which it ran.

It’s been a difficult year for the industry. Especially the Canadian publishing world. As an agent, I am not immune to the ever changing/shrinking status of our Canadian publishing industry. It certainly keeps me on my toes, and keeps my eye out for international talent. The majority of my clients are UK based, and I am hoping to expand my list in the new year with more European/American writers. With that being said, I will always be on the look out for Canadian talent. Even with the market being what it is, there are still exceptional works being produced in this country. And having sold a debut literary title to Penguin Canada this year, I am fully aware that it is still possible for debut literary writers to get published in this country.

In terms of what I am looking for in 2013: I want to grow my non-fiction list, with hopes of working on more creative projects in the upcoming year. Think: Photography, Travel, Environment.

The new year is just around the corner, and as always; the excitement lies in the unknown. Going into 2013, there are only two things I am sure of:

1. I still love my job. I love working in the industry, and with the people in it. My passion for my work is unwavering, and I can only hope that I will still be doing this job in five-ten years from now.

2. For the foreseeable future, I will be living out of a suitcase.

On that note, I am going to take this much earned rest and gear up for the craziness that will be awaiting me come January. I will be in NYC for the entire month of January, spilling over into February. It will be: work, work, and more work, in a dogged effort to catch up on everything. Barring any unforeseen disasters, I plan on making 2013 the most productive year yet in terms of my career.

Leave a Reply

