Germania

22 Mar

As you well know, I was recently in Germany for a few days. In the city of Leipzig to be exact. I had visited L. for a few days last year, and so I was already familiar with the city.  The purpose of my trip was to quickly check out the Leipzig book fair, and to see if this was a book fair our agency could ever benefit from by attending.

The verdict: It was great to suss out, but unless we represented our fair share of German writers, there really isn’t any point in TRF attending it in a professional capacity. Like the BEA, the Leipzig book fair is very much geared towards the promotional side of things. Whereas the Frankfurt book fair is all about negotiating international publishing rights. It is the largest trade fair for books, and so it makes more sense for TRF to attend the FFBF. 

But by no means was my trip to Germany a lost cause. Not only did I have fun checking out the fair, I also had the opportunity to meet with a writer that I had been hoping to sign for quite some time. She had approached me with an idea for a non-fiction project, and we had been writing one another back and forth for nearly six months. I convinced her to meet me in Leipzig for the day, and we spent the entire afternoon walking and talking around the city center. Her name is Liv, and she is a wonderfully bright and engaging woman. We’ve decided to work together, and I couldn’t be happier for it!

This was my second visit to Germany, and I must confess that I am a bit smitten. Perhaps even more than smitten? Granted, I have only visited three cities in Germany (Berlin, Leipzig, Frankfurt). Nevertheless, there is something about the rhythm and aesthetics of that country that I find very appealing. Enough so, that I might be able to get past their wretched climate and undesirable cuisine if the opportunity to move there ever presented itself.

Keeping with my current German-y obsession, I am looking to get my hands on a copy of Simon Winder’s Germania. The reviewers refer to his book as an entertaining and strange overview of the last 2,000 years of German history. It sounds fantastic!

But enough about Germany. I fly out to Italy tomorrow. I land in Venice, where I will be spending a mere 24 hours and then it is on to Bologna via train. I must confess, I am terribly curious to see what the children’s book fair is all about. I am also beyond envious that they get to congregate in tantalizing Italy each spring while the rest of the publishing industry is banished to a rain sodden England. Depending how this visit goes, I may be looking to sign more children’s authors…

5 Responses to “Germania”

  1. Dina Desveaux (@TartanFrog13) March 22, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

    Hi Drea,
    I’ve never been to Leipzig, but I highly recommend the Black Forest should you venture over during warmer climates.
    Wish my current novel depicted scenes in Germany to entice you…it’s a globe-trotter from France to Canada to Spain, etc. but no Germany. Wait – there are German bombers who raid the town of Guernica….would that count? 😉

    I love that 007 is in your tagline – it was my nickname at my last job.
    Italy….ah Italy…wish I were there instead of shovelling.

    Enjoying your blog,
    Dina

    • literaryagent007 March 22, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

      Hi Dina,

      Yes, I have heard that the BF is worth seeing. I hope to see more of Germany over the next few years. And yes, preferably when the weather is milder 🙂

      And your novel sounds enticing, even without the German setting. What is your novel called?

      Shovelling? Where are you located?

      And I’m happy to hear you are enjoying the blog.

      Thanks for dropping me a line,

      Drea

  2. Dina Desveaux (@TartanFrog13) March 23, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    Hi Drea,
    The snow is melting in Nova Scotia (because I’m willing it to:)
    And yes, I do enjoy your blog – you give such personal flare to your agenting life.

    About my novel:
    Working title is PAPILLON: House of the Butterflies

    Advance praise for PAPILLON from one of the editors of Atlantic Books Today:

    “The current day scenes at Sabine’s potlucks are so vivid in my mind that I feel I was there. The same goes for the fabulous party scene in Mexico! I can feel the heat, hear the glass shattering and I’ll never forget Picasso tossing his caviar.

    There is wonderfully dark humour in Diego’s early story in Guernica. He is such a rogue and his appearance brings a sense of mischief to the story. The schoolyard scenes with Gracia, Carlos and Solita ring very true as does the seed of friendship planted between Diego and Carlos.

    “And memories, even unconscious ones, follow us like shadows.” This line really stuck with me. I keep reading it over and over again, picturing it on the book jacket somewhere.”

    …As a past bookseller, I can honestly say it would be a pleasure to hand‐sell this type of work. It’s a story to really get lost in, one that sticks with you after you put it down.”

    – Heidi Hallett works for the Nova Scotia Writers’ Federation, she also sits on Atlantic Books Today Editorial Committee, provides editorial services at Wordbird and is the former owner of Frog Hollow Books

    Thanks again for your interest & here’s hoping Italy is as ‘molto bello’ as I remember!
    Cheers,
    Dina

  3. literaryagent007 March 25, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Hello Dina,

    The book sounds fantastic! When is the release date? And yes, let me know once it is published and if the title changes. I will definitely pick up a copy to read 🙂

    Cheers,

    Drea

  4. Liv March 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Cannot wait to see what the future holds! And I really hope you enjoy Germania, let me know your thoughts. Viel spaß in Italy (horribly jealous).

Leave a Reply

