Poetry Central

24 Apr

If poetry is your thing, then it is in your best interest to be in Toronto over the next few days. Spring may not be in the air, but poetry certainly is. And even with the weather being less than desirable, the promise of an onslaught of new poetry is more than enough to get the literary crowds together to celebrate all that is poem-like. 

There is the Wolsak & Wynn Spring Poetry launch taking place tonight at The Garrison, starting at 7:30 and running until 10:30 pm. The event is launching new works by Tanis Rideout, Ken Howe, and Chris Pannel. 

Tomorrow evening Anansi is hosting their Poetry Bash at The Garrison. Michael Crummey will be reading from his new collection, and that in itself is enough reason to get yourself out to the party. M.C. is a personal favourite of mine, and I am terribly excited to hear him read some of his new work. The event starts @ 7 pm. 

On Monday, the CanBPA is hosting a Poetry Karaoke night at Tequila Bookworm, and I must confess, this is the event I am looking forward to the most. Drinks + Karaoke Poetry sounds like the perfect way to pass an evening. I will have my Nick Laird, Yeats, and Anna Akhmatova poems in hand. I have decided to read Laird’s poem Light Pollution, and will probably not do it justice. If you want to hear it as it should be read, click on the link below

http://poemsoutloud.net/audio/archive/laird_reads_light_pollution/

To wrap up this post, here is one of my favourite poems of all time. It’s by the Russian poet, Anna Akhmatova

Broad and yellow is the evening light
Tender the April coolness
You are so many years late,
Nevertheless I am glad you came.

Sit here close to me
And look on joyfully:
Here is a blue composition book
With the poems of my childhood.

Forgive me that I ignored the sun
And that I lived in sorrow
Forgive, forgive that I
Mistook too many others for you.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Poetry Central”

  1. Deepam (Susan) Wadds April 24, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    This poem breaks me open. Thank you so much for sharing it.

  2. literaryagent007 April 28, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

    I’m glad you enjoyed it! I first came across A.A. when I read Anne Michaels Fugitive Pieces. There is a line of this poem incorporated in the text (as well as in the film) It broke me open as well when I first heard it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Too Late Is Too Late | EssayBoard - May 18, 2013

    […] Poetry Central (literarychampion.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

