My Heart Is Not My Own hits bookshelves…

5 Aug

Michael’s book hits bookshelves across Canada starting tomorrow, and I cannot stress how beneficial it would be to you and your bookshelf if you were to acquire a copy of My Heart Is Not My Own.

I think it’s safe to assume that everyone who worked on this book is super excited to see the end result hit bookstores tomorrow. Beyond the excitement, I know we are all (Penguin, and The Rights Factory) of the opinion that this book is special and deserving of attention, and we are hopeful that the readers will share in our enthusiasm. I truly do foresee great things for Michael and this book!

To better promote My Heart Is Not My Own, Penguin has launched some book events out West. As his agent, I wanted the book to receive some coverage in the Toronto area, and so our agency is hosting a book launch for Michael at Type Books on September, 23rd. If you are interested in attending the event at Type, please drop me a line at drea@therightsfactory.com and I will add you to the mailing list for the official evite.

To further promote the book, Michael is going to be a contributing editor to the National Post for four articles starting August 6th and running until August 9th. I will be posting the links on here and via Twitter.

I am just so thrilled for Michael, and am so happy that we’ve had this opportunity to work together. I am also incredibly grateful to Adrienne Kerr over at Penguin for spotting the potential in M’s work and taking the time to work with Michael to make the book the best that it could be. I will no doubt be rushing into several of Toronto’s bookstores tomorrow to see where the book has been placed (and maybe pulling a Celeste, and moving the book to the staff picks area) and have already pitched the book as a fall read for multiple Toronto based book clubs who seem eager to get their hands on a copy.

My Heart Is Not My Own can be found in all good Canadian bookstores starting August 6th, 2013. The book will also be available for purchase on Amazon. But I would urge you to buy a copy from your favourite indie bookstore. Please support the independents, and keep the indie bookstores doors open.

Speaking of independent bookstores, this is a video Type Books created last year. I think it is going to be the perfect venue for the launch! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKVcQnyEIT81002584_353942654736428_1672091179_n

3 Responses to “My Heart Is Not My Own hits bookshelves…”

  1. michaelwuitchik August 5, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Drea, this is lovely…thank you so much. And Type Books looks like a perfect venue–looking forward to September!

  2. Carmit Martin March 11, 2014 at 1:50 pm #

    Beautifully written and a powerful story that is very gripping (stayed up til 1:30 to finish it). The characters and images from the book were brought to life in great detail and will stay with me. Provides some human context for the brutalities of the civil war in Sierra Leone and gives insights into Poro that I have heard about before but never really understood.

    • michael wuitchik March 11, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

      What a lovely comment …I am presently in Sierra Leone and have just returned from the village I modeled Lileima after.. More thoughts coming shortly on my blog. Thank you Carmit, and thank you Drea.

Leave a Reply

